Abide In Him

remain

I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in Me, he is thrown away as a branch and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire and they are burned. 7 If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples.

I heard these thoughts on the radio this morning on my way into work.  It is a message worth repeating for sure!

Many people love the verses that say ask and you will receive, whatever you wish it will be done for you.  It is a great thought and coming from the mouth of Jesus, it is surely true.  Well, yes and no.  It all depends on how you interpret it.

Many people read these verses and envision that they can truly get whatever they want as long as they ask God.  I want a new car.  I want to be rich.  I want…, I want…., I want….  The list is endless.  If you are a person who has this attitude with prayer then you are looking at Jesus as if he were a genie and you are granted an immeasurable amount of wishes.  Genie Jesus does not exist.  We do not rub a lamp and poof…our wish comes true.

The key to this is the first part of verse 7.  If you abide in Me and My words abide in you.  If I am all-in, 100% in Jesus and have made room for the Holy Spirit to reside in my heart, there are only certain things for which I will ask.  My prayers will only be fruit bearing prayers.  My requests will only further His kingdom.  My requests will not be selfishly trying to make “my kingdom” bigger than it deserves to be.

The next time you have a prayer request, ask yourself these things.

Does this request further God’s kingdom? 

Does this request bear fruit? 

Is it selfish of me to ask for this request?

Leave a comment